The NDSU Department of Mathematics Webpage has relocated.

Please update your bookmarks. We are now at

If you really do mean to access this webpage, please scroll down or click here.

Last modified: Wed Aug 19 11:36:37 CDT 2015
Yellow banner MATHEMATICS
Welcome to the NDSU Department of Mathematics.

For comments or questions, please contact Dr. Benton Duncan, our Department Chair, at 701.231.6956.

National Math Festival and Fargo-Moorhead-West Fargo Math Fest

The National Math Festival, sponsored by the Math Sciences Research Institute and the Institute for Advanced Studies, was held on April 16-18. The Department of Mathematics at NDSU organized supporting mathematical activities in several elementary and middle schools. These culminated in a Math Fair at NDSU, attended by approximately 65 students. Photos here.
The NDSU Mathematics Department will host an NSF-CBMS regional conference 27 – 31 July 2015. More information is available at the Conference webpage.
The NDSU Mathematics Department will host the Spring 2016 Central Sectional Meeting of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), April 16-17, 2016.

Mission Statement:
The mission of the Department of Mathematics is teaching, research and other scholarly activities in the discipline; providing quality education to our B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. students and post-doctoral associates; and influencing the mathematical climate of the region positively. The Department strives for excellence in teaching its majors and service courses, while providing stimulating and informative courses. Assessment of student learning is a prime goal of the Department. The Department's research activities include pure and applied mathematics.

News and Announcements:

  • Odds 'n N's: The newsletter of the NDSU Mathematics Department
  • Saba Al-Kaseasbeh and Mark Batell successfully defended their PhD dissertations in August 2014.
  • María de los Ángeles Alfonseca-Cubero was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure starting in August 2014.
  • Leo Butler and Susan Cooper are new tenure-track faculty members in the department starting in August 2014.
  • Trevor McGuire and Caroline Turnage-Butterbaugh are visiting faculty members in the department starting in August 2014.
  • Hannah Altmann and Liz Sattler were awarded ND EPSCoR Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships starting in August 2014.
  • Jessica Striker was awarded an NSA research grant starting in 2015.

  • More news


NDSU Mathematics Dept #2750, Attn: Melanie, PO Box 6050, Fargo ND 58108-6050

Department of Mathematics - #2750, Attn: Melanie, 1210 Albrecht Boulevard Minard 408, NDSU, Fargo ND 58102
Tel: 701.231.8171
Fax: 701.231.7598
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00
Webmaster, last update: Dec 15 2014 at 12:20